

SOUTHERN BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION 2023 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM)

MINUTES

Monday 2nd October 2023 - 7:00 PM - 8:00PM

Sandringham Basketball Association

Board Attendance: Phil McFarlane (President), Gerrik Gratz (Vice President), Anne-Maree Nunan (Secretary), Natalie Hughes (Treasurer), Dean Cartwright, Jason Shugg, Michelle Scalzi (7)

Life Member Attendance: Judy Barlow, Scott Harvey, Steven Lunardon, Mark Mitchell, Bill Evans, Andrew Stavropolous, Louise Graham, Andrew Maloney (8)

Member Clubs: Paul McMahon (President - Sandy Saints), Lisa Mouncer (President - Bullits), Paul Breen (President, Eagles), Adam Donovan (President - Parkdale Pacers)(4)

Playing Member Attendance: Nil

General Attendance: Craig Weir (CEO), Sophie Smirniotis, Emma Jarman, Danielle Maclellan, Rachel Vanderwal (5)

Total Attendance: 24

Apologies: Kristy Mwaba (President – Mentone Mustangs), Erin Peters (Administrator – St Leonards Basketball Club)

Chairperson – Phil McFarlane (President)

Meeting Opened – 7:03pm

1. Welcome – Chairperson called the meeting to order.

The Chairperson advised that in accordance with Section 16(2) of the Constitution there must be a quorum of 5 members present before the meeting could proceed. 11 members were noted as present at the commencement of the meeting.



The Chairperson declared that a quorum was present, and the meeting could proceed.

The Chairperson confirmed the AGM process followed constitutional requirements – the notice of the AGM was issued with 21 days' notice, and Agenda was published with 7 days' notice.

2. Ordinary Business (in accordance with s12 (3) of the Constitution).

2.1. Confirm Minutes of Previous AGM:

The Chairperson noted that only Members present at the 2022 AGM held on 21st November 2022 could move and second the minutes of that meeting.

There were no questions about the minutes.

The Chairperson asked that the minutes of the 2022 AGM 21 November 2022 be moved and seconded.

Moved – Judy Barlow (Life Member), **Seconded** – Lisa Mouncer (President - Bullits). **Carried unanimously** by show of hands.

2.2. Confirm Minutes of Previous EGM:

The Chairperson noted that only Members present at the 2022 EGM held on 1^{st} May 2023 could move and second the minutes of that meeting.

There were no questions about the minutes.

The Chairperson asked that the minutes of the 2023 EGM 1 May 2023 be moved and seconded.

Moved – Paul McMahon (President – Sandy Saints), **Seconded** – Paul Breen (President - Eagles). **Carried unanimously** by show of hands.



2.3. Board Reports:

The President's, Secretary's and Treasurer's reports were tabled at the meeting (included in the SBA Annual Report distributed on 25th September 2023). The President, Secretary and Treasurer summarised the relevant reports and called for any questions.

The Treasurer highlighted capital expenses made in FY23 (Court 1 scoreboard and Glory League cameras) and upcoming projects including commercial ventilation and court flooring.

Questions – Scott Harvey (Life Member) asked a question regarding the opportunity to improve Court 1 if the floor is to be replaced such as floor space and grandstand. The CEO confirmed negotiations are in progress with Bayside Council to determine if the floor is end of life and considerations include whether to resurface or change flooring, removing the permanent stand v portable mobile stands and curtaining court 1 which is a NBL1 requirement.

Paul McMahon (President, Sandy Saints) asked if the registration process for 2024 will continue as planned given the delays to the new courts. The CEO confirmed a confirmation will be sent to Domestic Clubs when confirmation is received from Council that the courts will be completed in time. Communication / confirmation will be made with the Clubs before the registration process opens for 2024.

The Chairperson asked that the President's, Secretary's and Treasurer's Reports be moved and seconded.

Moved – Scott Harvey (Life Member) **Seconded** – Lisa Mouncer (President – Bullits) **Carried unanimously** by a show of hands.

2.4. Appointment of an Auditor for 2023/24 financial year:

The Chairperson asked that Tudor & Company Pty Ltd Chartered Accountants be reappointed as the Associations Auditor's for the 2023/24 financial year.

Moved – Louise Graham (Life Member) **Seconded** – Judy Barlow (Life Member) **Carried unanimously** by a show of hands.



2.5. Election of Directors of the Association:

In accordance with Section 23.3 of the Constitution:

"Each Director of the Association shall hold office for a period of three (3) years. When a person's term of office has come to an end he or she will relinquish the position at the end of the next annual general meeting three years after the date of his or her election. This person is eligible for re-election."

Section 23.6 of the constitution states "two Directors will align in the first and second calendar year and three Directors will be elected in the third year of each cycle".

Therefore, in accordance with the Constitution three (3) Directors are required to relinquish their positions at this AGM. The following Directors are required to stand down at this AGM:

- Dean Cartwright
- Natalie Hughes
- Michelle Scalzi

In accordance with Section 24.1 the Secretary has received three (3) nominations for the three (3) Director vacancies.

The bios of the nominees are contained in the AGM Agenda published on 25th September 2023.

All constitutional conditions have been met.

The Nominees are:

- a. Natalie Hughes seeking re-election
- b. Dean Cartwright seeking re-election
- c. Michelle Scalzi filling a casual vacancy

As there are only three (3) nominees for three (3) positions, in accordance with Section 24.4 a ballot is not required and the nominees are deemed elected.



3. Other Business:

3.1 Vote for Life Membership for David Barlow

A nomination for life membership for David Barlow was submitted and seconded by Scott Harvey and Andrew Stavropoulos.

Jason Shugg ran the review process as detailed in the Life Membership Criteria policy. An Awards committee, comprising Jason Shugg (Board Member), Dean Cartwright (Board Member), Craig Weir (CEO), Frank Russo (Life Member), Craig Leith (Life Member) and Lisa Mouncer (President, Bullits), convened to confirm the eligibility criteria of 'direct and exceptional contribution' to the SBA and made a recommendation to the Board to endorse the nomination.

The SBA Board unanimously endorsed the nomination of David Barlow for life membership.

Scott Harvey spoke to the nomination for David who started as a junior player at Sandringham and has represented the SBA throughout his basketball career on many stages and served and supported the SBA in a variety of roles in addition to player, including as a Coach and now parent of junior players.

The Chairperson asked for a show of hands regarding the election of David Barlow as a Life Member, noting a 75% majority of eligible votes was required. The vote was **carried unanimously** by a show of hands.

The Chairman warmly congratulated David on his Life Membership and David expressed his gratitude and his intention to continue to represent the SBA as a Life Member and support the Association's growth.

4. Close:

The meeting was declared closed at 7.40pm.



1. Meeting of New Directors and Board:

Following the AGM the Board met in accordance with Section 23(8) of the Constitution to vote on officer bearers and roles. The following was unanimously agreed:

President Phil McFarlane
Vice President Gerrik Gratz

Secretary Anne-Maree Nunan

Treasurer Natalie Hughes
Director Dean Cartwright
Director Jason Shugg
Director Michelle Scalzi

End.